Nawasco Logo


Nawasco Logo

Nawasco Background

NAWASCO is located in Nanyuki town Laikipia County. The utility was incorporated under the Company's Act (Cap 486) of the laws of Kenya as a private company limited by shares on 14th Dec, 2005. This was as a result of the enactment of Water Act 2002 (repealed by Water Act 2016), which brought about far reaching water sector reforms in Kenya separating water resources management from water service delivery

NAWASCO, pursuant to Section 154 of the Water Act 2016 operates as a county water service provider mandated to serve Nanyuki and its environs including parts of Nyeri and Meru Counties, covering a total of 286km2 as per the Water Services Regulatory Board(WASREB).

The service area spanning 286km2 is divided into three major blocks namely: Nturukuma, SweetWaters and Central Business District (CBD). The three blocks are further divided into 19 blocks for purpose of effetive and efficient service provision - meter reading, billing, disconnections and reconnections

The abstracted water is channeled to NAWASCO's water treatment plant with approximately design capacity of 12000m3. The water is transmitted around the service area through gravity. There is also a notable number of customers upstream of the treatment works who receive water through pumping. The company regularly performs well on several key perfomance indicators set out by the sector regulator and was ranked 7th overall out of 88 WSPs in the recent released perfomance review of urban water utilities across Kenya under the Impact Report Issue No. 12.